Search

pagesunraveled

The Thoughts of An Aspiring Author

Month

September 2014

[Book Review] Guardian — Alex London

Book Details17227209

  • Author: Alex London
  • Series: Proxy #2
  • Release Date: May 29, 2014
  • Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy, LGBT
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 352
  • Price: Php. 720.00

Synopsis:

The pulse-pounding sequel to Proxy! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

In the new world led by the Rebooters, former Proxy Syd is the figurehead of the Revolution, beloved by some and hated by others. Liam, a seventeen-year-old Rebooter, is Syd’s bodyguard and must protect him with his life. But armed Machinists aren’t the only danger.

People are falling ill—their veins show through their skin, they find it hard to speak, and sores erupt all over their bodies. Guardians, the violent enforcers of the old system, are hit first, and the government does nothing to help. The old elites fall next, and in the face of an indifferent government, Syd decides it’s up to him to find a cure . . . and what he discovers leaves him stunned.

This heart-stopping thriller is packed with action, adventure, and heroics. Guardian will leave you breathless until the final page.

A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz’s Alex Rider series, James Dashner’s Maze Runner, Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.

Continue reading “[Book Review] Guardian — Alex London”

[Book Review] Proxy — Alex London

Proxy-Alex-London-Book-CoverBook Details

  • Author: Alex London
  • Series: Proxy #1
  • Release Date: June 18, 2013
  • Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy, LGBT
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 379
  • Price: Php. 780.24

Synopsis: 

Blood washed off easier than poverty. (p.25)

Knox was born into one of the City’s wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want—the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.

Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own.

Then again, neither is Knox’s. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox’s father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys’ resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.

Continue reading “[Book Review] Proxy — Alex London”

IMG_20140922_083013

So the Manila International Book Fair had concluded and these are my finds at the said event.

Last,  September 21, 2014, Sunday, I had the chance to go in the SMX Centre for the MIBF 2014. It’s the last day of the event so the place was so crowded. Guardian is the only new title I’ve got, while the rest are hardcover replacements for my books. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets is a bargain for Php. 300.00 while the rest are 20 % off the price.

[Book Review] Magisterium Book 1: The Iron Trial — Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

The Iron TrialBook Details:

  • Authors: Holly Black, Cassandra Clare
  • Series: Magisterium #1
  • Release Date: September 9, 2014
  • Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade, Adventure
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 295
  • Price: Php. 720.00

Synopsis: 

The worst off you look, the likelier they are to reject you (p.10)

Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial.

Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail.

All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him.

So he tries his best to do his worst – and fails at failing.

Now the Magisterium awaits him. It’s a place that’s both sensational and sinister, with dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future.

The Iron Trial is just the beginning, for the biggest test is still to come . . .


Third Sentence: 

Despite his amber goggles, he winced at the brightness of the reflected sunset.

Continue reading “[Book Review] Magisterium Book 1: The Iron Trial — Holly Black and Cassandra Clare”

20140914_091716_1

Fully Booked MIBF Passes from 2013 to present.

Continue reading “[The Reader’s Chronicles] MIBF Passes”

The Iron Trial by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare is now available!

 

[Book Review] If I Stay — Gayle Forman

If I Stay CoverBook Details:

  • Author: Gayle Forman
  • Series: If I Stay #1
  • Release Date: April 2, 2009
  • Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fantasy
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 196
  • Price: Php. 760.00

Synopsis: 

Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.


Third Sentence:

“I wake up this morning to a thin blanket of white covering our front lawn.”

Continue reading “[Book Review] If I Stay — Gayle Forman”

Howdy, fellas! Below are my social media accounts, see ya!

Twitter: @pagesunraveled

Instagram: @pagesunraveled

Goodreads: goodreads.com/pagesunraveled

Bloglovin: bloglovin.com/pagesunraveled

Pinterest: pinterest.com/pagesunraveled

 

Love,

Lawrence

 

P.S. Information stated above may change without prior notice. 🙂

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: