If I Stay CoverBook Details:

  • Author: Gayle Forman
  • Series: If I Stay #1
  • Release Date: April 2, 2009
  • Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fantasy
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 196
  • Price: Php. 760.00

Synopsis: 

Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.


Third Sentence:

“I wake up this morning to a thin blanket of white covering our front lawn.”

Thoughts About The Cover:

I think this new cover did gave justice to the book, compared to the original or first cover which is more like a-dead-tree-on-a-winter-scenario. I also love the simplicity of the cover, (and that it matches book 2!) and the beautifully crafted typography for the title. Looking at the cover, It makes me think about loss.

My Review:

If I Stay have been recommended by my friends a thousand of times. Telling me that I should read it, though it never caught my attention. Fast forward to 2014. The movie was slated for release this year and I was thinking if I should read it now, since, like most of readers do, I want to know the story first before I watch it on the big screen. When the trailer was launched and my brother and I got to watch it, I was like “Damn, this is pretty interesting”. The story, from what I saw on the trailer reminds me of a Korean drama called 49 Days, which is a real tearjerker and that spark a real interest for me to read this. Luckily, my brother bought a hardcover copy (that seems to be a self-proclaimed shared ownership) so that I [we] got to read the novel.

One thing you guys should know first is that If I Stay has no chapters. It is divided into time periods, like “10:12 A.M” and so on indicating the time which Mia narrates the story.

“Sometimes you make choices in life and sometimes choices make you.”

One thing that I really didn’t expect this book to have is a ton of flashbacks. By a lot, that I assume that at least 65% of the book is about flashbacks and considering at least 127 pages out of 196 are full of that content. Furthermore, the book time periods are somehow divided into two. First is when Mia tells us the situation on the hospital, which is most of the time listening to her visitors. And second part is the flashback part, which somehow features the “visitor” prior to the flashback section.

If I Stay is a really a slow book. Sometimes, I have to put the book down and breathe, or find a way to spark an interest for me to finish the book. I felt that the flashbacks are too long, making the book draggy and boring on some parts. There was also a scene about the friend of the Mia’s Dad telling us about that friend’s funeral, which is don’t get at all. I felt like that scene is unnecessary and looks more like a filler so that the book will be more thicker.

“I’m not sure this is a world I belong in anymore. I’m not sure that I want to wake up.”

One of the best scene in the book, is when Mia realizes that Teddy is dead. For me, that scene is so heartbreaking and the most cruel part of the book. I love how Forman weaved that idea, making Mia choice even more difficult. If Mia chooses to wake up, there will be no one left on her family and when she does not, then there will be a possibility of reunion on the “other world”.

I did enjoy reading If I Stay even though there tons of flashbacks, and I wouldn’t also consider it as a bad book. I think, I would have enjoy it more if I put more patience into it. But now, I’m thinking, If there wasn’t a great movie trailer would I read this?


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

