Proxy-Alex-London-Book-CoverBook Details

  • Author: Alex London
  • Series: Proxy #1
  • Release Date: June 18, 2013
  • Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy, LGBT
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 379
  • Price: Php. 780.24

Synopsis: 

Blood washed off easier than poverty. (p.25)

Knox was born into one of the City’s wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want—the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.

Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own.

Then again, neither is Knox’s. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox’s father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys’ resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.

 

Third Sentence:

Ripples of heat blurred the air around the car, and the girl in the passenger seat squealed.

Thoughts About The Cover:

The cover really caught my attention, with it’s shiny dust jacket and upside down images. I also love the upside-down title and the color palette used in this cover. If I ever I came across this book in a book store (considering that I don’t have any idea), I’m sure I will definitely buy this because of it’s gorgeous cover.

My Review:

I really don’t know how to start this review. This book left me writhing in pain and drowning in my own puddle of feels. It was that good. At first, I really had trouble of grasping the book itself since there are terms that I can’t understand, for example the “chapter 11“. I think I did read the first chapter thrice to understand it, nevertheless, I didn’t hinder me from continuing the book. I believe that the moment I reached page 40 is the moment that I really can’t put the book down, and made me more irritable when someone interrupts me. Proxy has short chapters, which really works for me since I don’t put a book down in a middle of a chapter.

‘There are worst things than forgiveness no?’ Mr. Baram shrugged. ‘We should all get a little forgiveness – without it, there can be no kindness’ (p.36)

Reading this books feels so original, it’s like you’ve been reintroduced to the dytospia genre all over again. I didn’t give me thoughts like “Oh! This is like Hunger Games’ districts but it was named as factions” when I was reading Divergent. Everything here in Proxy is new. Everything here is well thought of. What I really like here in Proxy is the technology that they uses. The technology in the world of Proxy is very entertaining. It’s the technology that nowadays the world of communications wants to pursue and to develop, but to no avail fails to replicate what London has created in this world. This book is a breathe of fresh air. This book didn’t join the path of Divergent and The Hunger Games but created a new path to take.

I like the fact that one of the character is gay, it raises awareness among the third sex and the book makes this scenario not a big deal. In the previous books that I had read, they tend to make homosexuality a big thing, unlike here that it just looks like a common thing, it gives the sense of equality and provides us the assurance that we can also implement that sense here in the real world. Furthermore, I love how the proxy system works, and how Alex London managed to explain it to me clearly without taking to many chapters to do so. Moreover, London didn’t put much attention in describing things making the flow of the story very smooth and easy to understand.

I wouldn’t consider this book as light reading but it’s not really dark either. This book incorporates many symbolism and allusions that makes you think how cruel is the world is and that we’re not far from reaching the “dystopia-age” if we continue living like we do. The characters in this book is one of the major factor that made me consider this book a “must-read”. The trio are very intelligent and really deserves respect. They act the way a wise person would do and not “in-the-moment” kind of characters that makes you want to punch them in the face because of their stupidity.  In here, the characters does everything because they have a reason, they don’t just read and deliver lines, they whisper it into your ears making you a part of their world. Furthermore, I like that Knox is the flirty kind of guy, every time that he flirts with Syd makes me smile (yeah, I was kinda rooting for them, SydKnox? KnoxSyd?). The characters feels so real that you can visualize them hanging out or talking to each other without London making them to do so. Above all, I believe Knox has the best character development among the three. I came to hate him first because he had putted Sydney in many suffering as his proxy but I came to liked him when he tries his best to save Syd, he’s the only person that has a real reason why he wants Syd to live. And finally I came to love him when he sacrificed himself for Sydney (insert sobs here). He demonstrated true friendship. A friendship that takes on forgiveness and trust.

‘We all begins as equals, but a contract, like a confession, changes our relationship. One becomes a debtor, one creditor. One a proxy, the other a patron. The contract defines us until its terms are met. A goat would always be a goat, but humans can change how they define on another, and how they define themselves. That was civilization.’

‘But beneath it all, everyone bleeds.’ (p.233)

The pacing here is really fast but very steady. You wouldn’t feel that timeline of the book is really short (I don’t think it lasted for a week). Another thing that I like here is the lines, they are just so perfect and well constructed. My notes on this book is really long since I had to wrote every quote or line that I like down. I think after reading Guardian, I have to do a post compiling the lines that I love from the series. The ending is so powerful and intense that I’ve cried in my sleep. I think I need a break, or a mourning period after this book. Proxy will definitely shelved among my classics, and I think I have to force my friends to read it because it was so good and there are no words to describe it. It’s definitely at the top of my dystopia list, making Divergent and The Hunger Games move to a lower shelve. I did regret that I wasn’t able to get my book signed by Alex London when he came here in the Philippines. 😥

I’m still hoping to see Knox in the next books. (Yeah, everything is possible)


Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars

 

 

