Book Details:The_Maze_Runner_cover

  • Author: James Dashner
  • Series: Maze Runner #1
  • Release Date: October 6, 2009
  • Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 374
  • Price: Php. 680.00

Synopsis: 

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

Third Sentence:

“He fell down at the sudden movement and shuffled backward on his hands and feet, drops of sweat beading on his forehead despite the cool air.”

Thoughts About The Cover:

Well, the cover is obviously a maze, it is plain and simple which suits the typography used in the title. The cover didn’t strike me well enough, though, the title did. The title is very intriguing especially the book is categorized under dystopia. My copy was given by my brother as a gift for my birthday as well as the rest of the books in the trilogy including the prequel, The Kill Order.

My Review:

I am wrong to expect too much on this book. This disappointed me big time. I was pushed by my friends to read this saying this book was amazing. But then, I got bored and annoyed by this book. I’m not saying that The Maze Runner is a bad book, but I think it’s not just for me. I think it was my mistake to read Proxy and Guardian beforehand. Those books are off-the-charts-amazing. They’ve got me thinking all day, but this book does not. It’s just I thought this book was edge-of-the-seat-amazing, but then I was bored to death by reading this.

The Maze Runner opens just fine, but then it fails to spark my interest. The characters are easy to understand, but I don’t get the feeling that I am attached to them, or even empathizes with them. The primary problem with this book is that the words or the slang is really hard to understand. The characters will introduce them but will not explain it, or the explanation will be given in the later chapters. How I was supposed to keep up? Furthermore, this book has a lot of questions, I mean a lot but has few answers.

“Thomas hugged Chuck to his chest, squeezed him as tightly as possible, as if that could somehow bring him back, or show thanks for saving his life, for being his friend when no one else would.”

Another thing that I was looking forward in this book are good lines, but to my surprise, there was none! On the other side, I find Chuck and Teresa really interesting. I always knew Chuck’s fate, so I’m not really surprised at the end. It seems like a common formula on the YA genre. Chuck is annoyingly-good. He’s the friend that everyone wants. He’s the primary reason that I keep reading (even though it really bored me) the novel as well as Teresa. I find myself calling Teresa, Tessa. Teresa is such a bad-ass. She is not your typical heroine. She not just thinks, she acts. Minho is also a funny character, *cheers to Asian guys*. Minho brings out the humor that I needed in the book.

What I like about this book are its short chapters, it really suits me well and its fast pacing. The pacing is so consistent, though, I believe that there are chapters that I deemed unnecessary, it’s a good thing that I don’t skip pages. I also finds the telepathy thing really good, and it adds romance to the book, a connection that was established beforehand. There are just some things that are left unexplained, for example the reason for the words in the code. I’m sure there are reasons behind that, furthermore, why does it takes them two years just to kill a Griever, especially the most of the Runners are trained. I mean, Thomas is kinda special, but it seems stupid that the Runners wasn’t able to kill a single Griever for two years. Another thing that confuses me is that what happened to those who remained in the Glade? Thomas said by the end of the book that they are probably killed by Grievers, but then Grievers were turned-off before they left the Griever hole, which makes them alive if my analysis is correct. Another is that where is the maze located? Is it in a building or something? And where the hell Gally hid when he first disappeared? I am hoping that my questions will be answered in the next books and praying that the sequel will be better than this first book.

I’m probably going to continue with the series and might reread this book sometime in the future and see if my opinion changes. My original rating is 2.5 out of 5 stars, but for the honor of Chuck’s fate, I’m kicking up the notch a little higher. (and also for the ending, which I like the best.)

 


 

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

