Book Details:

  • Author: Gillian Flynngone-girl-review_320
  • Series: Stand Alone
  • Release Date: May 24, 2014
  • Genre: Adult, Crime, Mystery
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 419
  • Price: Php. 999.00

 

Synopsis:

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media–as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents–the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter–but is he really a killer?

As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister, Margo, at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?

Third Sentence:

“The shape of it, to begin with.”

Thoughts About The Cover:

I dunno really what’s on the cover, it looks like the blonde hair of Amy or something else. If I were to buy this cover based solely on this cover, then surely, I will not buy this. When I first saw this book, I was hoping that the hair-something will continue on the back of the book but it does not. Well, thanks heaven that the story is really good!

My Review:

Now how to provide this book a review? I was rendered speechless upon finishing this one and made me want to run to the nearest cinema to watch the adaptation. At this early point of my review, I am now telling you that go to the nearest book store and grab your copy of this book. It is a must read. Oh god, I can barely gather my thoughts on this. It’s been a while that I have read a book that I really want to finish in one seating, a real-page turner yet I don’t want it to end. I’m sure you guys had already experienced that thing. That feeling that you stay late up to midnight just to read more and the feels. Oh god, the feels, this book creep me out big time.

Okay, enough of the feels. Gone Girl is divided into three parts, and there are no numbered chapters. Instead, the book is narrated through alternated point-of-view of Nick Dunne and Amy Elliot Dunne. On the first half of the book, Amy’s diary entries are provided. Which is really interesting. You guys, should take note of the subtitle, if that is the right word for the short description after the narrator’s name.

“Second hand experience is always better. The image is crisper, the view is keener, the camera angle and the soundtrack manipulates my emotions in a way reality can’t anymore. I don’t know that we are actually human at this point, those of us who are like most of us, who grew up with TV and movies and now the internet. If we are betrayed, we know the words to say; when a love one dies, we know the words to say. If we want to play the stud or the smart-ass or the fool, we know the words to say. We are all working from the same dog-eared script.” (p. 72)

Gone Girl opens with the day of the fifth-year wedding anniversary of Nick and Amy and with Nick telling the story. When Amy was gone, my first thought would be that someone has abducted her because the scene just suggests it. I mean how the things in the house are described, doors open, broken vases and the like. Then here comes the diary entry, which now makes me that Nick killed her wife. And Nick is acting strange, really strange. I was astounded with Nick admitting to the readers that he is lying to the police. I just don’t know what to believe. I do not have any clue on how this book will end and how the things will turn-out.

The diary is so convincing and Nick, well Nick acts like a child, like bone-deep immature. I really hate him for the most part of the book since according to the diary, he treats Amy bad. And I agree with Boney, that Nick’s acts like a mama’s boy. When Nick was revealed was cheating. I am now absolutely sure that he killed Amy. He killed her. He did. But then there goes the part two and the part three.

I love how Nick’s POV keeps up with the pacing of the Diary entries, vice-versa. How the diary entries makes your mind go round that you didn’t know what to believe, Amy or Nick. It’s like that. But what made me love and praise this book so much is how Amy’s mind works. It the mind of a genius. How she thinks of everything, how disciplined she is. She’s a genius. especially on the small details. The things that will not really notice or think through, but she did. She planned everything, like her mind is ten steps ahead of us.

The treasure hunt clues are f*cking genius. I like the way Amy blended the clues and letters together. It’s awe-inspiring. I just can’t explain it you guys really should read it. Furthermore, I applauded Flynn on how she made those two POVs really convincing that you really don’t know which one is saying the truth. My notes for this review is really loooong. I mean looooong.

“But I may be wrong, I may be very wrong. Because sometimes, the way he looks at me? That sweet boy from the beach, man of my dreams, father of my child? I catch him looking at me with those watchful eyes, the eyes of an insect, pure calculation, and i think:

This man might kill me.” (p. 205)

I will not reveal much information because I believe that it will really spoil you. But with it’s controversial ending, well I’m satisfied with it though there things that I wished could be change, say Nick’s book. I really want to know more about it. I really hope for a sequel, but I think that will be hard. For me, every questions has been answered by the end of the book. I’m really satisfied with it and I hope you guys will add this to your next read.  I really love Amy, she’s really Amazing plus, I couldn’t moved one with Nick’s last line. If you need a genius, call Amy.


 

Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars

