Book Details:15749186


Synopsis:

Lara Jean keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her.

They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her, these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she can pour out her heart and soul and say all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

Third Sentence:

“Silly things.”

Thoughts About The Cover:

This. Is. Such. A. Pretty. Beautiful. Gorgeous Cover! And the typography! Oh, god! The typography is bloody amazing! To all who owns a physical copy of this book will probably agree with me. It looks very real, like someone had used a Sharpie and written the title on the dust jacket. Moreover, I like the idea that the cover continues on the back side of the jacket and the model cover is also very pretty!

My Review:

>Non-spoilery<

Breathe in. Breathe out. why did Han ended it like that? Whhhy? I can’t stop thinking about Lara Jean and Peter after I’ve finished this book. I’m always wondering what will happen next. Oh, god. I just can’t. Okay, okay, enough of swearing.

Lara Jean Song is a teenage girl who had written love letters to all the boys she’d liked before, which she uses to let out her feelings and opinions and after that she keeps it in a teal hat box (which her mom gave). But one day, the hat box had gone missing and all her letter are sent. One by one the receiver of the letters approaches Lara Jean to ask what’s the fuss about. Including Josh Sanderson, her sister’s current boyfriend. Since Lara Jean and her sisters are close with Josh, like a real family member, she tries to make him believe that she doesn’t like anymore and uses another receiver of a letter as a fake boyfriend. Now Lara Jean must face the results of her actions whether she like it or not.

I like how this book shows realistic scenarios, like dealing with your family, the lines that must not be crossed and the usual high school drama. I love how Han explained things here that I myself can’t explained. Like the fear of driving. What catches my attention in here is how Lara Jean makes impulsive decisions and never thinks the consequences of those. This book made me dream of being a high school again. Oh, the feels!

“When you have a boyfriend or a girlfriend, you only want to be with that person, and you forget everybody else, and then when the two of you break up, you’ve lost all your friends. They were off doing fun stuff without you.” (p.164)

>Spoilery<

What I Like…

I love the relationship between the Song girls and it’s a smart idea to make the main character the middle daughter. It provides a tension and pressure with Lara Jean and how she deals with Kitty as Margot leaves them for Scotland. This book is very fun to read, it only took me hours to finish this and like I’ve said before, it did leave me hanging. At the start of the book, I was having a hard time to pick this up or to continue reading because of long introductions, but when the letters got sent, I think I’ve read this non-stop. I like the idea of Kitty being mature than her age. It provides a great source of opinion and also humour when Kitty lectures or thinks more intelligently than Lara Jean.

Then there’s Peter. I’m having a hard time to arrange my thoughts about him. He’s such a fun character to read, which sometimes overshadows Lara Jean. Peter, Peter. Let’s just say that I like you best and you’ve made this book really interesting read. He’s so sweet and very shallow sometimes. (Yes, I’m overusing the word “fun”). The best Lara Jean-Peter scene for me is the baking scene. He’s very romantic and kinda reminds me of Will Herondale from The Infernal Devices.

What I don’t Like…

I don’t really get it why Lara Jean didn’t make a move to find out who sent those letters. If I were Lara Jean, I will torture everyone just so that I will know who sent them and I will investigate like Sherlock or Cormoran Strike. There are also some lines from her that I think is not appropriate for her age, like it’s too shallow for her to think that. But well, thanks to Peter and Kitty for always saving the scene.

Margot. I don’t really get her at the end. She acts like there’s nothing anymore between her and Josh but then she hates Lara Jean instantly without even acting like a big sister like she’s used to, that makes the responsible-Margot looks like more of a pretend. I think it’s pretty lame for her to get angry, if in the first place she has no intention of getting back together with Josh.

Josh. I’m very confused about him. But I like him more than I dislike him.

Genevieve. It’s like the plot is building something big for her but at the end, it’s just like that. That’s she’s only been created to spread those sex message.

Chris. The plot can stand on its own without her. It’s like she’s a redundant character. I’ll be more happy if Lara Jean’s Dad has been built up more than her.

“When people fight with each other, that means they still really care about each other.” (p.190)

Overall, I really like this book and will probably put this on my phone for rereading. I think, this is the best contemporary for me so far. I’m really looking forward with the sequel!


 

Rating: 4.5 stars

