Book Details:

  • Author: Nicholas Sparks15925
  • Series: Stand Alone
  • Release Date: April 8, 2003
  • Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Mystery
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 494
  • Price: Php. 315.00

Synopsis:

Julie Barenson’s young husband left her two unexpected gifts before he died: a Great Dane puppy named Singer and the promise that he would always be watching over her. Now, four years have passed. Still living in the small town of Swansboro, North Carolina, 29-year-old Julie is emotionally ready to make a commitment to someone again. But who? Should it be Richard Franklin, the handsome, sophisticated engineer who treats her like a queen? Or Mike Harris, the down-to-earth nice guy who was her husband’s best friend? Choosing one of them should bring her more happiness than she’s had in years. Instead, Julie is soon fighting for her life in a nightmare spawned by a chilling deception and jealousy so poisonous that it has become a murderous desire.

Third Sentence:

“Trees were barren, their cragged limbs curling in the frigid air like arthritic fingers.”

Thoughts About The Cover:

To be honest, Sparks’ novels has identical formats or styles of covers so I guess, this one didn’t quite catch my attention. If you look on the cover, you’ll know immediately that the guardian is the dog on the cover. Though, I love the hues used on this cover.

My Review:

>Non-Spoilery<

The Guardian is a fast novel and very entertaining read, even though it’s predictable, I find myself flipping through pages in a fast pace. The pacing in the novel is okay. Since this is my first Nicholas Sparks novel, I couldn’t quite compare this one to his other works. The characters are fine, though I didn’t get attached to them in the end.

“You always have a choice. It’s just that some people make the wrong one.”

>Spoilery<

My immediate thought after reading this book is that I want a big dog like Singer. I always knew that Singer would die, so I didn’t surprise me in the end. That’s one thing that I don’t like with this book, it’s very predictable. When Richard came into picture, I knew that he’ll be the antagonist. It doesn’t give me chills or edge-of-the-seat moments. There are times that the plot drags on and becomes boring which includes scenes that I really don’t know about or the book can stand without it.

Singer is such a fun character. I like it when he becomes jealous of Richard or Mike. He’s so smart and wise which made me continue reading the book. Sometimes, I find myself thinking if Singer should be the main character because Julie’s decisions are sometimes too stupid for her age. Which annoys me. There are times that Mike annoys me due to his short amount of patience especially on the scene with the police officer. He always uses his strength first before his brain. I didn’t find the closure I wanted for Richard’s character in the end. His ways and actions are not really explained, which for me sucks.

“Mike, however, heard nothing at all. Lost in her breathlike touch, he knew only one thing for sure: In the instant their lips first met, there was a flicker of something almost electrical that made him believe the feeling would last forever.”

Overall, I like this book but there are things that I’m looking for that I didn’t find. This is my first Nicholas Sparks novel and I’m looking forward to read more of his works.


 

 

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

 

