Book Details:

  • Author: E. LockhartWeWereLiars__140612011956-575x883
  • Series: Stand Alone
  • Release Date: May 13, 2014
  • Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Mystery
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 227
  • Price: Php. 720.00

 

Synopsis: 

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

Third Sentence:

“No one is an addict.”

Thoughts About The Cover:

I love the cover of this book, especially the texture of the dust jacket. The title is also quite confusing, which I like because it adds mystery about the book.

My Review:

>Non-Spoilery<

We Were Liars is about the Sinclairs. The Sinclairs is a family who owns a private island in Massachussets in which they stay every summer. The story is narrated by Cadence Sinclair. I love the writing style as well as the chaptering of this book. The phasing works so well with me. If you haven’t read this book, I suggest that you leave this page and come back later. I wouldn’t want to spoil you.

“Silence is a protective coating over pain.” p.29

>Spoilery<

I just don’t know what to feel after finishing this book. There is a part of me that want to throw the book out of my window because of the heavy onslaught of feels that it brought me. It was that good. I finished this one in a day since I cannot put the book down. I like the writing style used in the book. I find it very striking. Especially the scene at the beginning of the book in which Cady narrates that her father shot her in the chest then her heart rolled out of her rib cage. When I read that, I was “wow, is that the plot twist?”. Then after a few pages, I realized that it was just a metaphor of what she feels.

The book is very short, yet I feel that I’ve read a long book. It’s like there are tons of information carefully interwoven into one page. It’s hard not to theorize what really happen to Cady when you are reading this. Why she forgot things or why her mom won’t answer her questions. Or what really happened during Summer Fifteen that the family seem to change when she came back at Beechwood during Summer Seventeen.

When Cady returned at Beechwood after spending the Sixteen on a European tour with his dad, I theorize that his Grandpa developed a Dementia since he changed the Victorian Clairmont into a new one. And that the rest of the Liars are spending their days in Cuddledown because they finally got the nerve to contradict to their mothers’ wishes. It took me a while to realize that the Liars were already dead. [*cries all over again*]

11651636

I think part of me theorize that thing to happen since it’s pretty obvious but the greater part won’t accept that they are already dead. I just can’t.

“They never go anywhere, Ever. Never see anyone. Now while I’ve been sick, they went everywhere, saw everyone?” (p. 134)

The Plot Twist

I didn’t expected that. It was so painful. So terribly agonizing. That all of that Summer Seventeen spent is Cuddledown is just a work of Cady’s mind. I didn’t see it coming. It came in like a wrecking ball. It was so hard for me to finish the book. I think, that the last time I’ve cried over a book was when I finished Allegiant and Clockwork Princess. The book just made a mess out of me. I cried. And I cried all over again.

I’m in awe when I finally completed the puzzle that all of the previous happenings in the finally fall into their proper places. It was just so tragic that the Liars have to pay for the sins of their parents and their Grandpa. That they took the law into their hands. That it took so long for the family to realize that what they are doing is terribly wrong at so many places. I think being sad is not enough to describe my feelings with regards to the last part of the book. It just killed me, then death thought being dead once was not enough that it killed my dead body again.  I couldn’t imagine myself being Cady after the tragedy. I just want to kill myself too, if the same situation happens to me. That I have to live my whole life thinking and regretting every bad decisions that I’ve made. That I have to live my life because of one stupid mistake.

When I read that the Liars drenched the whole Clairmont with gasoline, one Liar per floor, I’m thinking that, that is such a stupid move. But who the hell can blame them? They’re drunk like hell. And when Cady lit a match. I just closed the book for a while and I know that bad things were about to happen. I just feel so sad and tired. The death of the innocent dogs is such a blow on my chest. They’re innocent, with no way to get out of the house. Ugghh. Just pain all over my system. Pain. Pain everywhere.

Before the last part of the book, I didn’t really relate to any of the characters or even just to feel that I care. But when I flipped a page and read it that the Liars had perished in a fire and felt a stabbing wound in my heart, I realized that I care. I care that it hurts so much. That Cady should have a happy ending with Gat. That Mirren will have a boyfriend and do her sexual intercourse thing. That Johnny, that witty Johnny should have gone to college. It was so hard for me. Remember the scene when Mirren shouts that she loves Cady? Remembering that scene is so painful. That the Liars are showing that Cady can move on. That she is loved and she should live the rest of her life with happiness and sunshine. I may not like them at first, but I’ve grown to love them in the end.

The hardest parts of the book for me is: First, when the Liars have to go now and leave Cady behind. And that Gat will be leaving for good. It still breaks my heart. Second, is when Cady returns to Cuddledown and starts to clean the mess. All by herself, knowing that the Liars are gone. And lastly, when Cady’s Mom realized that Cady finally placed the final piece of the puzzle. That now, everything is painfully clear.

Overall, I love this book and I can say that I wouldn’t want a sequel of it. I can’t seem to face Cady alone. A part of me hopes that she will just kill herself in the end. To kill all the pain. I probably would love to read this book all over again.

“It makes it hard to be alive, some days. A lot of times I wish I were dead, I truly do, just to make the pain stop.” (p.129)

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

P.S. Why they are called Liars? What happened to the envelope full of dried flowers?

IL1 IL2 IL3 IL4 IL5 IL6

