Book Details:19487009

  • Author: Colleen Hoover
  • Series: Stand Alone
  • Release Date: August 5, 2014
  • Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
  • Format: Paperback
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 322
  • Price: Php. 599.00

 

Synopsis:

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she doesn’t think it’s love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

Third Sentence:

“He presses the up button on the elevator and faces me.”

Thoughts About The Cover:

I love the cover (since it’s blue) and it makes me wonder how water is related to the story itself. Upon reading, the readers of this book will soon understand how the cover reflects the story and its characters. I love that the cover is intriguing and it’s blue (I think, I’ve already said that.).

“Love isn’t always pretty. Sometimes you spend all your time hoping it’ll eventually be something different. Something better. Then, before you know it, you’re back to square one, and you lost your heart somewhere along the way.”

My Review:

>Non-Spoilery<

This book is part of my Christmas wishlist and was given to me by my friends (yay!) since I think, I said to them that I will not be able to purchase this one immediately since the cost of the book is so pricey that I can buy a hardcover book in that amount. With that being said, they gave it to me as a gift which I’m very thankful.

Upon reading this book, I have no expectations since this is my first-ever Colleen Hoover book. I don’t know her writing style or how she narrates the story and plays her characters, so I really don’t know what to expect. I just know that this one is creating a buzz, thanks to Nick Bateman (who will play Miles, by the way.) and that made me crave to read this one more.

“Sometimes not speaking says more than all the words in the world.”

Ugly Love is about Tate and Miles as they starts a no-strings-attached relationship (if you calls that a relationship) which just leaves the two of them just sex. This book reminds me of the film Friends with Benefits, though in this book I wouldn’t consider that Tate and Miles are friends. This book is a page-turner. It’s hard for me to drop the book and not to finish it too soon (cause’ yeah, I read like a tornado, which sucks sometimes.). There are moments that the book will leave me drooling and hungry for more. It’s sad that there is no sequel (because I want one so bad) but the better part is, the book will be adapted into a film (yay!) and Nick will play Miles (double-yay!).

The book is told from the perspective of Tate and Miles, which is placed in intervals. Tate’s point-of-view takes place at the present time (of the book) while Miles draws his six years ago. It’s very interesting how the two POVs intertwined and makes me theorize things, and most of them are painful conclusions. I just really love this book and I believe I will reread this book more than I know.

“Ugly love becomes you. Consumes you. Makes you hate it all. Makes you realize that all the beautiful parts aren’t even worth it. Without the beautiful, you’ll never risk feeling the ugly. So you give it all up. You give it all up. You never want love again, no matter what kind it is, because no type of love will ever be worth living through the ugly love again.”

>Spoilery<

I just turned page after pages in this book, yet I dread that when I finish this one it will leave me broken. And that is true. After finishing, I just badly need a sequel.

From the very beginning of this novel, I already knew that the arrangement that they are proposing is a disaster in the making. It’s very obvious that they have feelings for each other and not just mere attraction and boy heat (well, heat. heat. heat.) which I was waiting for a revelation as the book progresses. I like the idea of having the chapters shifting point-of-views, it provides us the idea of what happened before. Why Miles is acting so strange and quiet. There are times that I get annoyed with the “Miles” chapters only because with Rachel in it. I find myself peeking where the next “Tate” chapter will be (because, yeah, I don’t want a triangle and Miles is just for Tate, okay? okay.) and thank heavens that “Miles” chapters are short. I can’t help myself but to picture Nick as Miles (is that  bad thing) which I rarely do while reading a book, even though some books are already adapted into films.

“That’s how it is when a person develops an attraction toward someone. He’s nowhere, then suddenly he’s everywhere, whether you want him to be or not.”

The novel has short chapters, which really worked for me. Moreover, the writing style for “Miles” chapters are so beautifully written, it’s short yet so good. The pacing works for me too, and it’s the first time that I really don’t care how the pacing is because my full attention is on Tate and Miles.

When I’m reading a book, I keep a notebook by my side to take down some notes and lines that I like, yet when I finished this, all I see in my notes are page numbers with short descriptions, like “rain scene”, “car sex”, “bathroom scene” and such, which I think is a good sign that I love this book.

Well, let’s talk about the sex scenes.

Oh, god. Oh, god. I just don’t know how to describe my feels. Oh, god. I just love it every time they do it. Feels. Feels overload.

On the other hand, there are times that I feel sad when it’s over, especially when Miles will leave Tate like a condom. Used then discarded. It makes me think that Tate feels like a slut, yet she didn’t want to end their relationship since she can’t accept the idea that Miles sleeping with another girl, so she accepts what Miles has to offer. Shout out to that painful “table sex”. 😥

“I know the thought of confronting your past terrifies you.It terrifies every man. But sometimes we don’t do it ourselves. We do it for the people we love more than ourselves.”

Since this book has few characters, I would like to talk about them:

Tate

I really like Tate, since she is so focused on her career. There are some points in the book that I want to praise her for being so martyr and so resilient with Miles. (Who wouldn’t love her?) I love how Tate narrates the story, how she describes her feelings, especially in that part of the book when she compares herself to a liquid. I really like that. It makes me to picture the story clearly and makes me turn the pages in a faster pace. Though, sometimes it’s very painful to read her chapters because she clearly holds back her feelings for Miles and how hard she tries not to let it show even if it kills her in the process. I don’t want to pity her yet I find it hard not to.

Nick, errrrr, Miles

I find seeing myself in Miles. Just like him, I tend to keep my emotions by myself and not to show it to others (is that bad?) and tend to be quiet in situations that I’m not comfortable with. Furthermore, I also see myself in his strong sense of self-control and discipline which made me like Miles. I love the idea that he is so mysterious which made me theorize some things while reading the book and why he reverts to his old self after sex (which pains me because it pains Tate. Moreover, when Miles is naughty, I find it very amusing and very funny. On how he manages to steal some kisses with Tate and how he manages to have sex with Tate without the other people knowing. Remember the scene where Miles and Tate acts that the boys are noisy during the game night so that Tate can move to his apartment have sex afterwards? I really like that and I find myself smiling with just a mere thought of that scene. And also that scene when he goes straight to Tate and kisses her in front of Corbin, that is just so freaking romantic. Ughh. What I don’t like about him, is that he holds back his feelings which tortures Tate to death. I really can’t blame him yet it’s very hard to read especially it kills them both in the process. I was very nervous when it was revealed that Miles has a son because I wouldn’t want this novel to end badly. I want them to be together in the end. And last thing, the two proposal at the end of the novel? That is just so freaking perfect. Perfect. Hands down, Nick, errrr, Miles!

Cap

I think he is the character that I love the most in this book. Cap provides the intelligence and wise advice that Miles and Tate needs in the book. He’s a very funny character and I really believe that he is made for the readers to love. Most of the good lines of the book are from him. I salute you, Flight Captain Samuel!

“Some people they grow wiser as they grow older. Unfortunately, most people just grow older.”

Corbin

Who wouldn’t love a overly-protective brother? Corbin is such a nice guy and the idea that he is willing to do anything to protect his little sister. That just made me smile because that is so sweet. Another thing is that he wants Tate’s boyfriend to pass his standards first before letting the guy in. Even though he hurts Miles in some parts of the book, it doesn’t stop me from liking his character. I think the best scene that I love him best is when he said to Miles that he is the only guy that will ever pass his standards for his sister. That is just so sweet of him. ❤

Overall, I really love this book (I think we’ve already established that) and I will reread this one to numbers I cannot fathom anymore. In fact, I’m reading it again at this moment. I really recommend this one and I’m really looking forward to seeing the movie adaptation and hopefully, this book will be printed in hardcover format. This deserves a hardcover printing!

“The pain will always be there.

So will the fear.

But the pain and fear are no longer my life. They’re only moments.”

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

“It’s the beautiful moments like this that make up for the ugly love”

