Book Details:the-unbecoming-of-mara-dyer

  • Author: Michelle Hodkin
  • Series: Mara Dyer #1
  • Release Date: September 27, 2011
  • Genre: Romance, Young Adult, Paranormal, Mystery, Fantasy, Supernatural
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 452
  • Price: Php. 665.00

Synopsis:

Mara Dyer believes life can’t get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

Third Sentence:

“Even telling you this much probably isn’t smart.”

Thoughts About The Cover:

The cover pretty much reflects what the book is, it’s dark, intriguing and mysterious (and somehow romantic). I love the cover since it matches the other books in the trilogy. What bothers me is the texture of the dust jacket, which is different from the other books (well, that’s the OC in me.).

“Sometimes, the mind has a way of protecting us from things until we’re ready to deal with them.” p.155

My Review:

>Non-Spoilery<

This book is page-turner. It scared the hell out of me. At night, I can barely look myself in the mirror or even peek outside on the window, thinking that someone might be out there. It was that effective. The book is told from the perspective of Mara Dyer and it narrates her life after the tragedy which killed her best friend, her ex-boyfriend, and her ex-boyfriend sister. I’ve waited for a long time to complete the trilogy so that I can finally start reading it. But the wait is worth it, I’ve finished the book within 10 hours, breaks included. I’ve been attached to Mara pretty well and I like Noah Shaw more than I can fathom. There are times that I’ve shed some tears because I really understand what Mara feels and there are times that I find myself laughing too hard (thanks to Noah Shaw). I find their relationship pretty interesting and I love it when girls get jealous of Mara. Noah Shaw is such a killer of good lines.

“He’s acting like your boyfriend. Which makes the girls he treated like condoms a trifle jealous.” p.255

>Spoilery<

What I like about this book is that Mara Dyer is an unreliable narrator. There are times that she won’t remember a thing and will just resurface in a different place after a few hours. That made me think if whether I should trust Mara or not. The beginning is a bit draggy and it took me a few chapters to adjust to the writing style (which I love in the end) of Michelle Hodkin. When I first started reading it, I did not assume I will be scared by this book, but I was damn wrong. It kept me thinking overnight and I had trouble sleeping because I get paranoid, thinking the same thing that Mara experienced will happen to me. The scenes where Mara hallucinates or sees things that she’s the only one can see creeps the hell out of me. I think, I can barely look in the mirror without thinking that the reflection will be different or will smile at me even though I’m not. Some creepy scenes are cliché but still it’s effective, especially the case when Mara is beginning to think that she’s insane.

“All I want is your happiness. I’ll do whatever it takes, even if it means being without you.” p.424

The death of her friends made their family move from Rhode Island to Miami. With that, her mother opted to enrol her in a private school named Croyden Academy. When Mara first saw Noah (he was not named at that point), I just knew that he’s the one. *Insert feels here*. Noah Shaw makes scenes in this book lighter than it seems. He just know when to uplift Mara and how to encourage her to carry on, (I think the British accent is at fault here.). I like that. I like that a lot. (And not to mention that he is a reader! Oh, god!) Remember the scene when Mara’s sketchbook had gone missing and Anna and Aiden bullies her? I think I just died when Noah rescues her with a bang, stating that they are lucky enough that they didn’t find the other sketchbook (which I assume includes nude portraits of him). That scene was sooo good! Noah is a big chunk of the pile of reasons why I love this book. He’s just perfect.

The scenes where Mara imagine how the dog’s owner and Morales will die totally freaked-me out. It is exactly the same as she imagined. It changed my thinking about her situation, made me doubt she is not going insane but just has something different about her. On the other hand, there are scenes that has just holes in it, specifically when Mara came home from the party and she found out that their front door was left open. If I were in the same situation, I will not completely enter our damned house. Then, there goes when she enters their house and finds that the photographs and the French doors switched places. If I were there, I will run out of the house and go back to Daniel’s. And yet she stayed and decided to take a bath. (The hell, the bathroom is the most scariest place in a house for me.) Mara then sees her grandmother’s earrings at the bottom of the tub then passes out. After a few hours she finds herself in a hospital with her mother reaching out to her earlobes producing the emerald earrings. I think, I just fainted in that scene. I just want to shout “What the hell is going on!!!” I was completely out of words. I just don’t know what to feel and what to think. It’s so complicated. It’s just “ughhh!!”.

“Noah, despite you being an asshole, or maybe because of it, I’d like to rip-off your clothes and have your babies.” p.172

I love it when Mara started to fall for Noah. Noah is such an annoying bastard, persistent and very annoying, which I think I why I like his character. It makes a perfect balance to their relationship since Mara’s character is such a heavy one and Noah is so romantic. Sometimes, I think that both of them are perverts, LOL. Who would have thought that a rich, handsome and perfect Noah Shaw will be head-over-heels with a crazy Mara Dyer. I know it’s a cliché on YAs but this one is very different. It struck me too hard and I can’t help but smile when I imagine them (maybe, too much imagination, not to mention I imagined them making-out all the time) Furthermore, when they talk, it’s like both of them are not just flirting with each other but seducing themselves to bed. (What did I just say?)

What I fell in love with this book is Mara’s family. They are a picture of a perfect family, especially Daniel. Daniel is so supportive character. He makes things easier for Mara and Noah. He reminds me of my older brother. On the other side, Joseph is so adoring! I wouldn’t forget his sing-song voice when he answered the phone and he said that it was “a booooy”. I love that! I just feel sad that through his early age, he suffered too much drama in life. I’m thankful that he didn’t remember much from the kidnapping scene. I still couldn’t complete the puzzle out why he was taken. (I should look forward with that on book 2)

“I was made for you, Mara” p.424

I relate so much with Mara. There are times I have a hard time figuring out what’s real and what’s not. Moreover, at night, I can’t help but to think that someone is watching me. As much as I hate to admit, there are times that I’m thinking about putting someone in pain, especially when I’m annoyed (mostly, those stuff are gore and disgusting.). But the thing that I can relate the most with her is the feeling when no one trusts you. I usually get that a lot especially when you are living in a country when the older people thinks that they know everything and wouldn’t want to delegate a simple task to you because you are young and you don’t have the enough experience in life. I find myself crying because I know what Mara feels. The feeling that she feels so alone even though she is surrounded by the people who loves her. But the ugly truth is, sometimes, love isn’t enough.

My problem here is that somehow the book lacks a main antagonist, the book just revolves with Mara’s situation. But thanks and no thanks when Jude was revealed to be alive. I assume he’ll be a big part of the next books and I can sense something is off with Dr. Kells. I just feel that she knows something and I think that thing is not good. (Plus, how the hell is that asshole Jude alive?) Aside from my love of short chapters, which is present here. I believe that the pacing did a great job in this book. It was fast yet it didn’t leave out descriptions and important details that adds value to the novel.

“Pride goes before the fall” p.408

Overall, I love this book and I’m sure to recommend this to readers out there. I believe that Hodkin did a fantastic (insert British accent) job in Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. I’m a fast reader, but it’s very rare for me to finish a book within a day. I still can’t stop thinking about this book and even though the book 1 is over, the chills stay me with me. And I just hope that I’m not the only one who hopes for a sex scene between Mara and Noah because their ship is so intense. (thousand degrees intense!). It will be a long time before I can face myself in the mirror. Dammit!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

“I’m not making you hate me. I’m making you love me.” p.266

heatherlandis08

