His Wounded Light BannerBook Details:

Synopsis:

The perfect life.
The perfect marriage.
The jilted lover.
Their worlds collide.
Fate intervenes twelve years later and their paths intersect once again. All three will question whether the heart is truly capable of dividing and being divided; each will decide whether it matters who you loved first or who you love last.
Together they will learn that in the end, there can always only be one.

My Review:

I started reading His Wounded Light, I think a week after finishing the first book since I’m afraid to see what happens next. (Yeah, Team Alex all the way!) In fact, I don’t know what will happen next since I think the Light in the Wound ended well, (say, for me).

For me, the reading experience in this second book was way more better than the first book. Not because I’m already comfortable or say, settled with Christine’s writing style but the story is much more well-written and well paced compared to the first book. To be honest, I had to control my urge to continue flipping pages so that I can absorb the words well and the story lingers much more longer in my system. It was that good and the slower pacing (compared to the first book) works very well with me.

When I saw the chapter list (is that what is it called? or is it table of contents?) and I saw that the book will be shifting POVs, my fear for what will happened had increased dramatically. I even thought that Alex will die because Jesse’s POV is the last one that will be voicing out.

Among the three, I like Alex’s POV a lot. His voice brought freshness and wit to the story. I love that he’s very honest with what he wants with Isa and how protective he is. His POV brought the feels flowing in my system. I can’t help but smile when I think about how sweet he is with Isa. I can’t even phrase my feelings properly. (Dammit!)

Okay, below is a spoilery section of this review. You’ve been warned. Read at your own risk. Again, you’ve been warned. 😀

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

There are times that the dam in my eyes are threatening to burst especially when the POV shifted Isa. The turn of events are just so painful that sometimes, I just had to stop reading and think for a while to calm my nerves. Till now, it pains me when Alex pushes Isa away. I cannot forget the scene when he offered her a divorce. That was just beyond my comprehension. That completely wreck the hell out of me. (Pain. Pain. Pain. Pain.) And the stairs scene? Oh, damn. There’s no Lawrence anymore. This novel turned him to nothingness. He’s just a puddle of messy feels and tears. Feels and tears.

On a lighter note, I like Jesse here. He’s a grown man. I love how Isa and Jesse finally found they should settle for friendship. (Sorry Jesse, still Team Alex here!) I find my lips curving into a smile when Isa advices Jessie and pursuing him to not to give up. That is just so sweet (and funny, too.).

If I find this book in a different circumstances, I think this book “can” stand alone. This book is a rollercoaster of feels. It takes you up until you cannot the bottom anymore and when you found yourself that you are comfortable with the height, it will drop you onto the thin air. Leaving you out of breath and your soul wandering somewhere else. This book made second chances more important. That we should not waste our time and feelings for things that we had done in the past. That we should not move-on but instead we should move forward.

Now, I agree with Christine’s decision to write this book. It makes the story more memorable. I believe, that whenever I see this book I will remember the second chances that I’ve nailed and failed in my life. Just with writing this review makes me smile. This book did not changed me. This book transformed me. It made me value my life more and made me a better decision maker in life. The story may end in this book, yet the story of Isa and Alex (and yeah, Jesse too.) will continue to inspire me to be a better person not just for others but with myself also. I can wait to have physical copies of this duology!

As a Filipino, it makes me proud that another Filipino can write something this good. This memorable. And maybe in time, I can write my own story too.

This is Lawrence, seeking purpose in life, valuing second chances and unraveling pages.


Excerpt:

“Today, a year after the night on the bridge, fourteen years after our first wedding and almost a year after our second, I have no doubt that the frailties of life will someday rear their ugly heads. But this time, we know who we are and what we stand for. Alex Ailey is a father, a brother, a son and a husband. He’s also a champion race car driver and a heck of a polo player. I am his wife, a mother, a sister, and a woman who strongly believes in her family and in herself; a woman who will always fight for what is right and true and who trusts the goodness of a person will always win out in the end.

This our story. There will be another book because Alex and I are going live our lives together and there will be no ending. Our love will never end. They say the heart wants what the heart wants and nothing you do can ever change that. This book, our words, our story is proof of the enduring power of love. Love will always persevere no matter what happens in your life, so once you have it, nurture it and never let it go. Through death and loss and damage and lust, love remains faithful and true. It never wavers, it merely waits patiently until you decide to let it in.

You can loose yourself a million times over, but your heart will always know who you are. in every wound and place of emptiness, love provides a light that guides you through the darkness.

It relentlessly seeks you out and stops at nothing to find you.

Love will always finds you.

And when it does, it will bring you home.”

hwl-teaser2-1

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

About The Author:

Christine Christine BraeBrae is a full time career woman who thought she could write a book about her life and then run away as far as possible from it. She never imagined that her words would touch the hearts of so many women with the same story to tell. She is currently working on her third book which she hopes to release in June,2014.

When not listening to the voices in her head or spending late nights at the office, Christine can be seen shopping for shoes and purses, running a half marathon or spending time with her husband and three children in Chicago.

You may also want to check her social media accounts:

Website – Goodreads – Twitter – Facebook – Instagram

Giveaway:

Click here for the Rafflecopter Giveaway! 

This blog tour is organized by:

BDBT Logo for Bloggers

fo5g3

