Book Details:71N-hAxibZL

  • Author: Stephanie Perkins
  • Series: Anna and the French Kiss #1
  • Release Date: December 2, 2010
  • Genre: Romance, Young Adult, Contemporary
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 372
  • Price: Php. 680.00

Synopsis: Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend. But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss? Third Sentence:

Napoleon, Marie Antoinette, and a lot of kings named Louis.

Thoughts About The Cover Okay, let’s not talk about that first cover which is so dreadful and does not give justice to this awesomely written story. I absolutely love the cover, it’s vibrancy, simplicity and the romantic Paris backdrop. I love it. This is one of the best cover changes in book history.

“I want to be his friend, not another stupid girl holding out for something that will never happen.” p.69

My Review: Anna and the French Kiss reminds me so much of high school. When things are less lot complicated Yeah, you know ‘cause college definitely sucks. I love this novel. It made laugh, smile and giggle with so much emotions. It’s so realistic and how Perkins made those characters feels so genuine. I first heard about this book a few years back and seeing the first cover, I immediately ignore it. Fast forward to 2014, it was announced by Penguin Teen that they will be releasing a matching hardcover for this contemporary trilogy. And thank heavens for that. Isla was released with the vibrant green dust-jacket and I’m definitely thrilled to have those three in my shelves with matching dust-jackets. I first read Anna and the French Kiss in January 2015 but last week, I’ve read it again as a conduct a reading marathon for the trilogy (since I only got the matching Lola on the last week of April).

“But I could be mistaking our friendship for something more, because I want to mistake it for something more.” p.190

The book is about Anna Oliphant, who was from San Francisco and was about to finish her senior year in high school when she was sent by her father (who-was-definitely-Nicholas-Sparks-because-yeah-he-makes-money-out-of-romancing-terminal-diseases) to a boarding school in Paris. She felt isolated since she didn’t know the language and she have to make new friends again only to be parted after the end of the semester. Anna can be annoying sometimes, but she is so forgiving. If Bridgette was my best friend it will take decades for me to move on from that thing that she pulled. I can definitely relate to Anna, since I’m not really good in creating new friends in a new place and also adjusting to new cultures. Her character is so cute, and I can’t really find a word to describe what I feel about her story. The closest word I think that will suite her story is engaging. Because it definitely is. The real star of this novel is Etienne St. Clair. St. Clair is so adorable character. He is just oozing with confidence and charisma which is the reason why everyone in school is in love with him. He is so flirty and romantic with Anna. I was annoyed by him for hurting Anna because it took him a long time to dump that Ellie girl. Yet, he is so cute when his fear of heights is within the radar. And remember the point zero of Paris? That is so romantic. Not to mention the poetry book. Or the movie scene. And the sleep-over scene. And the making out scene. OMG. The list is endless.

“There’s no reason to suffer this flight alone when we can suffer it together.” p.210

Final thoughts: The characters in these books are not perfect but they are realistic. It’s not like the other contemporary novels that I’ve read that the characters are so perfect with looks and everything. In here, St. Clair is gorgeous yet a short guy (not that he minds it) and Anna is so pretty (which she didn’t knew but St. Clair always points out) but has a huge gap on her teeth. They made me smile. They made me laugh. They made me feel loved. They made me fall in love with Paris.

P.S. WHY MY PARENTS DID NOT SENT ME TO A BOARDING SCHOOL!!!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I know there are flaws in this book, yet I’m giving this a five-star because it made me feel young again. And I love it.

“You don’t always have to solve your problems alone, you know. This is why people talk to their friends.” p.352

tumblr_nh4d50slFP1so48llo1_1280

tumblr_nh4d50slFP1so48llo2_1280

