Search

pagesunraveled

The Thoughts of An Aspiring Author

Tag

Dystopian

[Stacking-The-Shelves #3] October Book Haul

Since I’ve bought too many books last month, Continue reading “[Stacking-The-Shelves #3] October Book Haul”

Advertisements

Blimey! We’re now half-way done on this Taylor Swift Book Tag. Day 7 as it is, it’s time to talk about a character developments. Are there any characters Continue reading “[The Reader’s Chronicles] 7. Taylor Swift Book Tag — Everything Has Changed”

I was browsing on Youtube when I saw Christine Riccio from PolandbananasBOOKS doing a Taylor Swift Book Tag. I’ve watched it, and I immediately want one. I will post one book tag per day, and will compile them into one post on day 13! So here goes my Taylor Swift Book Tag:

Track 1: We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together

(pick a book or series that you were pretty sure you were in love with, but then wanted to break up with)

Continue reading “[The Reader’s Chronicles] 1. Taylor Swift Book Tag — We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together”

[Book Review] The Maze Runner — James Dashner

Book Details:The_Maze_Runner_cover

  • Author: James Dashner
  • Series: Maze Runner #1
  • Release Date: October 6, 2009
  • Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 374
  • Price: Php. 680.00

Synopsis: 

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

Continue reading “[Book Review] The Maze Runner — James Dashner”

[Book Review] Guardian — Alex London

Book Details17227209

  • Author: Alex London
  • Series: Proxy #2
  • Release Date: May 29, 2014
  • Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy, LGBT
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 352
  • Price: Php. 720.00

Synopsis:

The pulse-pounding sequel to Proxy! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

In the new world led by the Rebooters, former Proxy Syd is the figurehead of the Revolution, beloved by some and hated by others. Liam, a seventeen-year-old Rebooter, is Syd’s bodyguard and must protect him with his life. But armed Machinists aren’t the only danger.

People are falling ill—their veins show through their skin, they find it hard to speak, and sores erupt all over their bodies. Guardians, the violent enforcers of the old system, are hit first, and the government does nothing to help. The old elites fall next, and in the face of an indifferent government, Syd decides it’s up to him to find a cure . . . and what he discovers leaves him stunned.

This heart-stopping thriller is packed with action, adventure, and heroics. Guardian will leave you breathless until the final page.

A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz’s Alex Rider series, James Dashner’s Maze Runner, Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.

Continue reading “[Book Review] Guardian — Alex London”

[Book Review] Proxy — Alex London

Proxy-Alex-London-Book-CoverBook Details

  • Author: Alex London
  • Series: Proxy #1
  • Release Date: June 18, 2013
  • Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy, LGBT
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Edition: US
  • Number of Pages: 379
  • Price: Php. 780.24

Synopsis: 

Blood washed off easier than poverty. (p.25)

Knox was born into one of the City’s wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want—the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.

Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own.

Then again, neither is Knox’s. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox’s father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys’ resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.

Continue reading “[Book Review] Proxy — Alex London”

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: